Faculty Advisory Board

The UROP Faculty Advisory Board is composed of one faculty member from each of the following schools at UCI: School of Biological Sciences, Claire Trevor School of the Arts, Henry Samueli School of Engineering, School of Humanities, Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Science, School of Medicine, School of Physical Sciences, School of Social Ecology, and School of Social Sciences. The Dean of Undergraduate Education and the UROP Director are ex officio members of the Board. The Board advises the UROP Director on the progress and future growth of the program and contributes to campuswide discussions about undergraduate research. In addition to reviewing and making funding recommendations on all UROP and SURP proposals, Board members select papers that will be published in The UCI Undergraduate Research Journal and assist with the selection of recipients of the Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Research.



Lisa Naugle (Claire Trevor School of the Arts)
PhD. New York University
Professor of Dance
e-mail: lnaugle@uci.edu

Hartmut Luecke (School of Biological Sciences)
Ph.D. Rice University
Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology & Biochemistry
Assistant Professor of Physiology & Biophysics
e-mail: hudel@uci.edu

John C. LaRue (Henry Samueli School of Engineering)
Ph.D. University of California, San Diego
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Affairs of the School of Engineering
Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
e-mail: jclarue@uci.edu

Vinayak Chaturvedi (School of Humanities)
Ph.D. University of Cambridge
Associate Professor of History
e-mail: vinayak@uci.edu

Richard Lathrop (Donald Bren School of Information & Computer Science)
Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Associate Professor of Information and Computer Science
e-mail: rickl@uci.edu

Shahram Lotfipour (School of Medicine)
M.D. University of Iowa College of Medicine
Professor, Emergency Medicine
e-mail: shl@uci.edu

James Nowick (School of Physical Sciences)
Ph.D. 1990, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Associate Professor of Chemistry
e-mail: jsnowick@uci.edu

Sarah Pressman (School of Social Ecology)
Ph.D. Carnegie Mellon University
Professor of Psychology & Social Behavior
e-mail: pressman@uci.edu

Louis DeSipio (School of Social Sciences)
Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin
Professor of Chicano/Latino Studies and Political Science
e-mail: ldesipio@uci.edu