E-SURP Grant Recipients
2018 E-SURP Grant Recipients
2017 E-SURP Grant Recipients
2016 E-SURP Grant Recipients
2015 E-SURP Grant Recipients
2014 E-SURP Grant Recipients
2013 E-SURP Grant Recipients
2012 E-SURP Grant Recipients
2011 E-SURP Grant Recipients
E-SURP Awards - 2017

E-SURP Fellows are expected to adhere to specific research and general conduct rules. Please click here to view the E-SURP Policy & Regulation Manual.

Congratulations to the following students for receiving an Edwards Lifesciences Summer Undergraduate Research Program (E-SURP) Fellowship in support of their faculty-mentored research projects.

Student Name


Faculty Mentor(s)

Project Title

Mira Asad Biomedical Engineering Professor Anna Grosberg Analyzing the Structure of Sarcomeres in iPSC-Derived Cardiomyocytes Containing the LMNA Mutation
Adrian Bahani Biomedical Engineering Professor Bernard Choi Comparison of DiI and Lectin-FITC as Contrast Agents for use in Optical Histology of Intracerebral Microbleeds
Danielle Becker Biomedical Engineering Professor Anna Grosberg The LMNA Mutation and its Effects on Cellular Structure in Patient-Specific iPSC-Derived Cardiomyocytes
Kyle Brumm Biomedical Engineering Professor Wendy Liu Regulation of Macrophage Behavior by Cyclic Uniaxial Stretch
Arian Cano Biomedical Engineering Professor Wendy Liu Development of an in vitro Model to Study Immune-Mediated Wound Healing
Nasam Chokr Biomedical Engineering Professor Anna Grosberg Studying Mitochondria Structure in Cardiomyocytes
Micah Lim Biomedical Engineering Professor Elliot Botvinick Quantification of Matrix Stiffness through Fiber Fluctuations
Daryl Nguyen Biomedical Engineering Professor Arash Kheradvar Finite Element Analysis of Transcatheter Heart Valve
Thinh Phan Biomedical Engineering: Premedicine Professor Bernard Choi Easy-Access High-Resolution Laser Speckle Imaging of Blood Flow with a Modified Monochrome dSLR Camera
Sien Tam Biomedical Engineering Professor Wendy Liu Phagocytosis of Apoptotic and Necrotic Cells by Macrophages

Number of Proposals Submitted = 13
Number of Fellowships Awarded = 10
Number of Honorary Fellowships = 0

Total Funds Requested = $28,000
Total Funds Awarded = $20,000

For more information, please contact:

Ann M. Fain, Administrative Manager
The Edwards Lifesciences Center for Advanced Cardiovascular Technology
2400 Engineering Hall
Phone: (949) 824-0071 e-mail: cardio@uci.edu

Back to Top