Journal Advisors

Sharon V. Salinger
Dean, Division of Undergraduate Education

Said M. Shokair
Director, UROP

UROP Faculty Advisory Board

Professor Sally S. Dickerson
Professor Samuel L. Gilmore
Professor Diana N. Krause
Professor John C. LaRue
Professor Richard H. Lathrop
Professor Hartmut Luecke
Professor Lisa Naugle
Professor Jane O. Newman
Professor James S. Nowick

UROP Student Editorial Board

Usama Ehsan
Robert Gramer
Brandon Haghverdian
Whitney Hua
Noor Ketana
Francis Lee
Dhivya Sridhar

UROP Journal Assistant

Jerry McMillan, Journal & Symposium Student Advisor

~ A Letter from the UROP Student Editorial Board ~

The 2011 UCI Undergraduate Research Journal is truly multidisciplinary in its inspiration, content and scope. Papers were submitted for the Journal from every school at UC Irvine. The disciplines represented in the papers selected for publication cover a wide range of topics as well, providing a reminder that research is not confined to science labs, but can be found throughout the campus. The authors of these papers and their mentors have demonstrated their personal discipline as well: maintaining the effort and dedication required to achieve excellence in their work. As members of the UROP Student Editorial Board, we were excited by the Journal’s multidisciplinary representation and audience. Representing a number of majors and fields ourselves, we kept that diversity in mind as we evaluated each of the papers that we reviewed, asking whether they—no matter how difficult or technical—had something to offer to all of our readers. We further evaluated each paper for superb project design, significant results, superior analysis and excellent writing, and we feel that the five papers presented here have succeeded on all counts. It has been our great honor and pleasure to play a role in this year’s Journal, and we hope that you find the fruits of our efforts interesting and inspiring.


Copyright 2011  University of California Irvine, all rights reserved