Journal Advisors

Sharon V. Salinger
Dean, Division of Undergraduate Education

Said M. Shokair
Director, UROP

UROP Faculty Advisory Board

Professor Sally S. Dickerson
Professor Samuel L. Gilmore
Professor Diana N. Krause
Professor John C. LaRue
Professor Richard H. Lathrop
Professor Hartmut Luecke
Professor Lisa Naugle
Professor Jane O. Newman
Professor James S. Nowick

UROP Student Editorial Board

Usama Ehsan
Robert Gramer
Brandon Haghverdian
Whitney Hua
Noor Ketana
Francis Lee
Dhivya Sridhar

UROP Journal Assistant

Jerry McMillan, Journal & Symposium Student Advisor

~ A Letter from the UROP Student Editorial Board ~

Through The Undergraduate Research Journal, UCI provides its undergraduates with the unique opportunity to publish the research they develop under the eye of a faculty mentor. This opportunity is not only for scientific research—students of all disciplines submit their work for publication, and it has been our honor as members of the Student Editorial Board to help select the papers that represent the best of the UC Irvine research community. Just as passion guided these exceptional students through their research, our passion for our various disciplines and for editing allowed us to delve into each paper with zeal. We evaluated over fifty submissions, striving to find the ones that were the most significant, the most original, and had the most to offer to the Journal’s multidisciplinary audience. The dedication we showed to the Journal can only be matched, and then surpassed, by the authors in this volume, who spent countless hours ensuring their work met the highest standard for excellence. We would like to congratulate these men and women for their accomplishment.


Copyright 2012  University of California Irvine, all rights reserved