MDP Participants
2018-2019 MDP Participants
2017-2018 MDP Participants
2016-2017 MDP Participants
2015-2016 MDP Participants
2014-2015 MDP Participants
2013-2014 MDP Participants
2012-2013 MDP Participants
2011-2012 MDP Participants
2010-2011 MDP Participants

Participants | Research Projects

2011-2012 MDP Participants

Congratulations to the following students for being selected to participate in the Multidisciplinary Design Program (MDP) in support of their faculty-mentored research projects and creative activities.

Project Title Faculty Mentors Student Researchers

3-D Microfabrication Techniques for Vascularized Tissue Constructs via Angiogenesis and Vasculogenesis

Professor Steven George
Professor Christopher Hughes
Professor Abraham Lee

Parinaz Abiri
Duc Phan

A Global Satellite-Based Drought Monitoring System

Professor Amir AghaKouchak
Professor David Feldman

Aria Askari
Sina Khosravi
Jonard Talamayan

Art and Technology for Interactive Collaborative Performance

Professor Mark Bachman
Professor Sheron Wray

Brittney Brewer
Doyle Hou
Justin Uy

D.I.Y. Workshops in Design, Art and Technology

Dr. Garnet Hertz
Professor Peter Krapp
Professor Donald Patterson

Ivan Check
Vahan Hartooni
Nicholas LaJeunesse
Rachel Rose Ulgado
Kristen Wakamoto

Design Thinking and Creativity

Professor Sanjoy Mazumdar
Professor André van der Hoek

Russle Benson
Connie Chauv
Christina Hon
Nancy Huynh
Takashi Kamio
Laura Kiyokane
Tej Shiwakoti

Design, Culture and Sustainability

Professor Sanjoy Mazumdar
Professor Alladi Venkatesh

Ian Brown
Adam Clements
Jefferson Du
Connie Fu
Virginia Mac
Keelie Rocker
Jenny Wong
Jorge Zavala

Developing a Software Environment to Teach Media Programming

Professor Christopher Dobrian
Dr. Daniel Frost

Rachel Chu
James Gamboa
Arielle Paek

Development of Platforms Using Dielectrophoresis and Microfluidics to Isolate Stem Cells

Professor Lisa Flanagan
Professor Abraham Lee

Chesca Barrios

Inside the Mind: Educational Mobile Game

Professor Rebecca Black
Professor AnneMarie Conley
Dr. Bradley Hughes
Professor William Tomlinson
Cathy Tran

Christine Bediones
Katherine Chung
Kenneth Fernandez
Kevin Lee
Camille Macalinao
Mannchuoy Yam

Investigating Obstacles to Water Recycling and Re-Use

Professor Stanley Grant
Professor Jean-Daniel Saphores

Mindy Bui
Michael Mori
Huy Nghiem
Judy Pham
Robert Wu

Microbial Desalination Fuel Cell Research

Professor Sunny Jiang
Professor Yun Wang

Andrew Karman
Dean Orellana
Tiffany Tu
Yanwen Wu

Opioid Receptors Modulate Cardiac Spinal Afferents and Excitatory Cardiovascular Reflex Responses to Cardiac ATP Stimulation through a P2 Receptor Mechanism

Dr. Liang-Wu Fu
Dr. Jian-Guo Zheng

Tammy Bui
Prit Desai

Pixel VGA: Development of an Architectural-Scale Display System to Repurpose Electronic Waste

Professor Gillian Hayes
Dr. Garnet Hertz

Chantal Fry
Shawn Hoebeck
Jessica Kao
Ashkan Naderi

Prevalence of Suicidal Patients Who Visit the Emergency Department with Non-Psychiatric Chief Complaints Using a Novel Computerized Screening & Intervention Platform: Pilot Study Research Plan

Professor Tim Bruckner
Professor Bharath Chakravarthy

Bethany Albright
Emily Luong
Lily Sung
Calvin Tan
Samantha Wong

Programmable High Throughput Cell Based Assays for Immunological Diseases

Professor Anshu Agrawal
Dr. John Collins

Justine Chen
Alissa Nishida

Surface Functionalization of the Carbon Nanoelectrodes for Micro Biofuel Cell

Dr. Lawrence Kulinsky
Professor Marc Madou
Professor Reginald Penner

Suraj Sampath

Therabot: A Remote Controllable Robot Avatar Designed for Bedridden Kids

Professor Judith Gregory
Professor Simon Penny

Patricia Guan
Michael Luong
Tram Pham
Emanuel Sakzlyan
Katherine Tilford

Traditions and Transitions: An Interdisciplinary Approach to the Investigation of African American and Chicana/o-Latina/o Experiences

Professor Bridget Cooks
Professor Ana Rosas

Norma Alvarado
Megan Bonilla
Linett Chevez
Heyzel Chevez
Vileana de la Rosa
Anthony Delgado
Maritza Duran
Mayra Lopez
Jeanette Reveles

Understanding the Musculoskeletal Impact of Dance through Body-Worn Instrumentation

Professor Mark Bachman
Professor Jeffrey Russell

Jordan Linford
Amy Pham
Lillian Wang

Number of Applications Submitted = 152
Number of Fellowships Awarded = 78

For more information, please contact:

Said M. Shokair, Managing Director
Multidisciplinary Design Project (MDP)
Student Services II, Suite 2300
Phone: 824-4189 e-mail:

Back to Top