MDP Participants
2018-2019 MDP Participants
2017-2018 MDP Participants
2016-2017 MDP Participants
2015-2016 MDP Participants
2014-2015 MDP Participants
2013-2014 MDP Participants
2012-2013 MDP Participants
2011-2012 MDP Participants
2010-2011 MDP Participants

Participants | Research Projects

2018-2019 MDP Participants

Congratulations to the following students for being selected to participate in the Multidisciplinary Design Program (MDP) in support of their faculty-mentored research projects and creative activities.

Project Title Faculty Mentors Student Researchers
“MUGIC” Development of an Interactive Device Interpreting Musical Performance Gesture and Expression Professor Mari Kimura
Professor Michael Klopfer
Daniel Ascencio
Nathan Cho
Jigar Hira
Manasi Shingane
Melinda Tran
Contribution of Phyllosphere Microbes to Total Biogenic Volatile Emissions from Native Plants of the Coastal Sage Scrub Professor Celia Faiola
Professor Alex Guenther
Jesus Campos
Fatemeh Khalaj
Sanjeevi Nagalingam
Claire Weeks
Enhancing the Efficacy of Drug Released from Loaded Fibrin Glue by Photochemical Internalization (PCI) Professor Henry Hirschberg
Professor Eric Potma
Nehal Idris
Mai Le
Lina Nguyen
Richard Prince
Experimental Test of Energy Efficiency Annoyance Thresholds Professor Sergio Gago-Masague
Professor Michael Klopfer
Professor Joy Pixley
Mingyue Hao
Sarah Osborne
Melissa Torres
Huy Vo
Wenxin Zhang
Formation and Evolution of Ideology: A Cultural Consensus Model Approach for Mapping Religious Ideologies Professor Jean-Paul Carvalho
Professor Sergio Gago-Masague
Professor Kimberly Jameson
Professor Louis Narens
Linxuan Liu
Qingcheng Zhang
Michelle Lac
Greensteam: Rethinking External Combustion for a Sustainable Future Professor Michael McCarthy
Professor Simon Penny
Nathan Cabezut
Lyuyang Hu
Taiting Lu
Ennis Machta
Zhan Su
Investigating Interpersonal Comparisons of Utility Professor Sergio Gago-Masague
Professor Kimberly Jameson
Professor Louis Narens
Cale Chan
Akif Khan
Joyce Luu
Oman Humanitarian Desalination Challenge: Passive Solar Desalination Water Bottles Professor Shane Ardo
Professor Chenyang Sunny Jiang
Professor Jaeho Lee
Emily Barragan
Xi Chen
Yu-Yin Lin
Robust, User-Friendly Optical Platform for Long-Term in vivo Neuroimaging Professor Yama Akbari
Professor Bernard Choi
Julianna Bordas
Sally Huynh
Zihan Xu
Seeing the World through the Sewage Microbiome Professor Chenyang Sunny Jiang
Professor Katrine Whiteson
Zhuojin Huang
Loan Le
Taofeng Li
Smart Multimedia Technology for Understanding and Guiding Human Behavior Professor Mark Bachman
Professor Susan Charles
Professor G. P. Li
Jianming Bi
Ava Derevlany
Kaitlyn Nguyen
Kelly Nguyen
VR Digital Audio Workstation (VirDAW) Professor Vincent Olivieri
Professor Josh Tanenbaum
Professor Karen Tanenbaum
Luke Falcone
Yibo Gou
Jonathan Huang
Zhonglin Liu
Yiwei Yu

Number of Applications Submitted = 57
Number of Fellowships Awarded = 47

For more information, please contact:

Said M. Shokair, Managing Director
Multidisciplinary Design Project (MDP)
Student Services II, Suite 2100
Phone: 824-4189 e-mail:

Back to Top