SURF-IT Fellows

Previous SURF-IoT/SURF-IT Fellows

Participants | Research Projects

2005 SURF-IT Fellows

Congratulations to the following students for receiving a Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship in Information Technology (SURF-IT) Fellowship in support of their faculty-mentored research projects and creative activities.

Student Name UCI Faculty Mentor
Project Title

Fatima Alim

Professor Philip Collins

Nanoelectronic Circuits for Chemical and Bio-sensors

Michael Brown

Professor Charles Zender

Distributed Data Reduction Techniques Applied to California Climate Change Simulations

Robert Carpenter

Professor Simon Cole

Fingerprint Data Collection and Analysis

Kelvin Cheung

Professor Marc Madou

IrOx Derived Biosensors

Vahe Gabuchian

Professor Zhibin Guan

Biomemetic Modular Design for Advanced Biomaterials

Dirk Groeneveld

Professor Falko Kuester

Design and Implementation of an Identification Layer for an Interactive Digital Workspace

Lei Huang

Professor Jia Grace Lu

Semiconducting Nanowires as Nanoelectronic Building Blocks

Madelyn Luttgen

Professor Noo Li Jeon

Axon Guidance Using Microfluidic Devices

Uel McMahan

Professor Bill Tomlinson

The EcoRaft Project

Pooya Monajemi

Professor Hamid Jafarkhani

Implementation of Jakes Channel Simulator for Multiple-Input-Multiple-Output Wireless Systems

Bobak Mosadegh

Professor Noo Li Jeon

Cell Migration in Microfluidic Devices

Cathryn O'Neill

Professor Kristen Monroe

Can Computer Games Encourage the Empathic Involvement That Fosters Moral Treatment of Others?

Alan Paradiso

Professor Marc Madou

Dielectrophoretic Separation Systems

Daniel Repasky

Professor Falko Kuester


Number of Applications Submitted = 34
Number of Fellowships Awarded = 14

For more information, please contact:

Said M. Shokair, Managing Director
Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship in Information Technology (SURF-IT)
Student Services II, Suite 2300
Phone: 824-4189 e-mail:

Back to Top